Fourth of July Shortcake

It has been remarked that I have too many thoughts. And that I dwell overmuch in my own head.  This may be true, and truth be told I wouldn’t have it any other way. But just in case my last post made you think that I am moody, intellectual and incapable of having fun let me assure you that, while I am unquestionably the first two, at the very least I know how to make cake…

This is my family’s traditional Fourth of July dessert:

A big hit with everyone I’ve ever served it to, and simplicity itself to make.

The Biscuits
2 cups sifted flour
1 T baking powder
1-3 T sugar
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup shortening
1 egg
1/2 cup milk

Preheat the oven to 450F and line a baking sheet with foil (shiny side up).  Lightly grease the foil.
Mix the dry ingredients and cut in the shortening until the mixture resembles small breadcrumbs. Make a well in the middle and add the milk and egg, stir with a fork until the ingredients cling together.
Spoon the batter into 6-8 large cakes on the greased foil (you might need to pat them to make them stay together). Bake 12-15 minutes, cool on a rack.

These are delicious with any kind of fruit and fresh cream. Just cut the biscuits in half, spread fruit and cream on the lower half, top with the “hat” and spoon on more cream and fruit.  In the winter I like them with honey and a cup of tea, but this is a post about summer.

 

(If you see an advertisement following this post, please disregard … it is placed there by WordPress, not me.  Thank you.)

This entry was posted in Baking, Cake, Cooking, Family, Food, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fourth of July Shortcake

  1. I wouldn’t have you any other way, either. And it was delicious.

  2. I should have clarified that is was not you who had remarked these things … Mwah!

  3. cht7 says:

    Looks tasty!

Leave a Reply

